Texas Fishing Forum

Brownsville/Port Isabel?

Posted By: Flags

Brownsville/Port Isabel? - 03/13/24 06:31 PM

I just took a teaching job in Los Fresnos which is about 20 miles east of Brownsville. I have zero experience down there. Looking for some advice/tips on wade fishing, jetty fishing and pier fishing. Any info is greatly appreciated
Posted By: Jim Ford

Re: Brownsville/Port Isabel? - 03/13/24 08:07 PM

I will PM you my number. I live right up the road in Harlingen.
Posted By: Flags

Re: Brownsville/Port Isabel? - 03/13/24 08:11 PM

Sounds good. Thanks. I am in Amarilllo so I know very little about fishing and hunting down that way
Posted By: Curt0407

Re: Brownsville/Port Isabel? - 03/13/24 09:45 PM

Flags you will enjoy it. Lots of good fish to be had off the piers and the jetty at South Padre Island.
Posted By: Pat Goff

Re: Brownsville/Port Isabel? - 03/14/24 01:45 PM

Congratulations!
Best inshore fishing in the country right there.
Posted By: Osbornfishing

Re: Brownsville/Port Isabel? - 03/14/24 01:46 PM

Originally Posted by Pat Goff
Congratulations!
Best inshore fishing in the country right there.

But maybe not the safest. scared

Re: Brownsville/Port Isabel? - 03/14/24 02:26 PM

There's sketchy places all up and down the coast. South bay or Laguna Vista is safer than parking and leaving your stuff in Galveston for sure.

One trip with Jim, he'll know he's landed in an amazing place.
Posted By: IslandJim

Re: Brownsville/Port Isabel? - 03/14/24 02:43 PM

A good close-by place to wade or pier fish is Jaime Zapata Boat ramp park on Hwy 48 half-way between Brownsville and Port Isabel. The channel under the bridge goes into San Martin Lake. Last Saturday, my fishing Buddy hooked up a slot snook, on live shrimp, right by the bridge. RGV Bait & Tackle, just east of Los Fresnos is a good place for bait & gear. Lots of good fishing in your new area. Listen to Jim Ford. IslandJim

Re: Brownsville/Port Isabel? - 03/14/24 04:26 PM